Teatro das Figuras


Thursday | 9.30pm

23 February, 2023


Was the Jungle Book reimagining process triggered by Akram's teasing how the production could, through the story of Mowgli's adventures, explore a near-future world that nature is beginning to eagerly reclaim? A world where the human relationship with nature is changing and the interconnectivity between animals and humans is becoming more complex and precarious.

Our creative ambition in reimagining the Jungle Book was to forge a compelling visual story that deftly guides its audiences through the antics of Baloo and Bagheera, the drama of the chase as Mowgli is snatched from his package, and an intimate portrait of a child and the mother he has lost.


Credits   __________________________________________

Director and choreographer: Akram Khan

Creative Associate and coach: Mavin Khoo

Writer: Tariq Jordan

Dramaturgical advisor: Sharon Clark

Composer: Jocelyn Pook

Sound designer: Gareth Fry

Lighting designer: Michael Hulls

Visual stage designer: Miriam Buether

Art direction and director of animation: Adam Smith (YeastCulture)

Producer and director of video design: Nick Hillel (YeastCulture)

Rotoscope artists and animators: Naaman Azhari, Natasza Cetner, Edson R Bazzarin

Rehearsal director: Nicky Henshall, Andrew Pan, Angela Towler (Tour)

Dancers: Lucia Chocarro, Tom Davis-Dunn, Harry Theadora Foster, Thomasin Gülgeç, Max Revell, Matthew Sandiford, Pui Yung Shum, Fukiko Takase, Holly Vallis, Vanessa Vince-Pang, Jan Mikaela Villaneuva, Luke Watson

Assistant animators: Nisha Alberti, Geo Barnett, Miguel Maella Black, Michelle Cramer, Jack Hale, Zuzanna Odolczyk, Sofja Umarik

Voice actors: Tian-Lan Chaudhry, Joy Elias-Rilwan, Pushkala Gopal, Dana Haqjoo, Nicky Henshall, Su-Man Hsu, Kathryn Hunter, Emmanuel Imani, Divya Kasturi, Jeffery Kissoon, Mavin Khoo, Yasmin Paige, Max Revell, Christopher Simpson, Pui Yung Shum, Holly Vallis, Jan Mikaela Villanueva, Luke Watson, 3rd Year students of Rambert School.

Producing director: Farooq Chaudhry

Executive director: Isabel Tamen

Project manager: Mashitah Omar

Technical director: Zeynep Kepekli

Technical manager: Michael Cunningham

Touring production: Manager and Prop Maker Marek Pomocki

Lighting engineer: Stephane Dejours

Sound engineer: Philip Wood

Video technician and projectionist: Matthew Armstrong

Stage manager: Samuel Collier

Coproduced by: Curve Leicester, Attiki Cultural Society - Greece, Birmingham Hippodrome, Edinburgh International Festival, Esplanade – Theatres on the Bay Singapore, Festspielhaus St. Pölten, Internationaal Theater Amsterdam, Maison de la Danse / Pôle européen de création – Lyon, National Arts Centre – Canada, New Vision Arts Festival - Hong Kong, Orsolina28, Pfalzbau Bühnen – Theater im Pfalzbau Ludwigshafen, Romaeuropa Festival, Sadler’s Wells London, Stanford Live / Stanford University, Teatros del Canal – Madrid, théâtre de Caen, Théâtre de la Ville – Paris.

With the support of Garfield Weston Foundation, Genesis Foundation and Angela Bernstein CBE

Supported by Arts Council England

Special thanks to Tina and Richard Fagan, Sue Buckmaster, The Coronet Theatre, University of Roehampton, Mr. & Mrs. Khan, Yuko Khan, Sayuri, Kenzo & Ayana Khan, Amanda Britton, Darren Ellis, Sharon Watson, Ann David, Anda Winters, Ella Roberts, Anna CY Chan and the students of Hong Kong Academy of Performing Arts that took part in creation rehearsals and all the 3rd year students of Northern School of Contemporary Dance (2021-2022) and 3rd year students of Rambert School (2021-2022) who worked on the R&D residency with Akram.

Jocelyn Pook’s music © Copyright 2022 Chester Music Limited

Music recorded by: Singers Tanja Tzarovska, Melanie Pappenheim, Sushma Soma, Sohini Alam, Voya Zivkovic

Musicians: Jocelyn Pook (piano, viola, voice, keyboards), Mulele Matondo (guitar and sanza), Belinda Sykes (shawm and gralla)

Recording and mixing Steve Parr

“How Dare You?”, Greta Thunberg, recording property of United Nations

“Blah, blah, blah”, speech by Greta Thunberg


Additional info   __________________________________________

Price: 15,00€

Duration: 130 minutes (with break)

Age rating: >12